Rating scheme


For the five-star scheme here’s the rubric:

5: is a book you read over and over and maybe weep and feel like your life is never going to be the same. e.g. Gilead

4: If I really enjoyed it but there was one major issue or several small issues, then it gets a four.

3: If I liked it but there were some major problems, whether it’s plot-wise, language, pacing, voice, character development, etc… then it gets a three. A 3 stars rating is still a good book, one that I enjoyed but wasn’t blown away by it.

2: A two-stars book is one that I didn’t completely hate but it’s not one that I loved or would recommend.

1: One stars are for the unspeakables.


5 Stars – Great movie, no major problems, excellent character development and interesting plot.
4 Stars – A good movie with one major issue such as a huge plot hole or several small ones, like inconsistent character development, or maybe something that messes you up so for the sake of sanity it doesn’t get a 5.
3 Stars – The movie was okay. The plot/story was somewhat compelling, the characters were interesting, etc…But it had major issues, e.g. bad CGI, static characters, or if it’s an unfaithful or bad adaptation of a book, you get the point.
2 Stars – A two star movie is simply bad. Example: The Star Wars prequels.
1 Star – Awful.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s